The hotel is situated on the site of an old farmhouse dating back hundreds of years. It takes its name from the ancient woodland area behind the building, which was once known as Lyzzick Wood. We believe this stems from medieval Times and the name means “light oak”.
In the mid part of the 19th Century the old home was taken over by the naturalist and cartographer Joseph Flintoft (1796-1860). He created models of the Lake District, one of which is in Keswick Museum and another in the hotel itself. He made the building into a “Gentleman’s Residence” (in common with many others, after William Wordsworth’s timely discovery of the grandeur and tranquil beauty of this special place). So it was for many years, with various occupants, all with stories to tell.
Since 1986, Lyzzick Hall has been a family owned and run hotel that has earned an exceptional reputation for providing first class service and food amongst a relaxing and unique setting.